Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Library Information
Get Answers Now

Library Diversity Home

Peer Research Advisors Program

Resource Guides

Programs

Diversity Events at NC State

Diversity@NC State

Library Resource Guide

Below are some of the Libraries' resources and some websites related to Asian-Pacific Americans in celebration of May's National Asian-Pacific Heritage month. For help finding more, Ask A Librarian.

Books | Websites | Electronic Resources | Special Collections

Books

Cultural Compass: Ethnographic Explorations of Asian America.
Edited by Martin F. Manalansan IV
Call Number: E184 .O6 C85 2000
D.H. Hill Library – 3rd Floor Stacks

Locating Filipino Americans: Ethnicity and the Cultural Politics of Space
By Rick Bonus.
Call Number: E184 .F4 B66 2000
D.H. Hill Library – 3rd Floor Stacks

A Part, Yet Apart: South Asians in Asian America
Edited by Lavina Dhingra Shankar and Rajini Srikanth
Call Number: E184 .S69 P37 1998
D.H. Hill Library – 3rd Floor Stacks

The Asian Pacific American Heritage: A Companion to Literature and Arts
Edited by George J. Leonard
Call Number: PS153 .A84 A87 1999
D.H. Hill Library – 5th Floor Stacks

Asian Pacific Americans: A Handbook on How to Cover and Portray our Nation's Fastest Growing Minority Group
Edited by Bill Sing
Call Number: E184 .O6 A85 1989
College of Education Media Center – Stacks

Asian/Pacific Islander American Women: A Historical Anthology
Edited by Shirley Hune and Gail M. Nomura
Call Number: E184 .O6 A855 2003
D.H. Hill Library – 3rd Floor Stacks

More Books in the library catalog on Asian-Pacific Americans

 

Websites

Asian Pacific American Heritage Association

The Association was designed to “promote awareness and increase understanding of the Asian/Pacific American culture and its diversity through education and celebration, focusing on May, Asian Pacific American Heritage Month (APAHM), and continuing throughout the year.”
http://www.apaha.org/

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month on Infoplease
Find history, timelines, statistics, fun facts, and a variety of other information related to Asian Pacific American.
http://www.infoplease.com/spot/asianhistory1.html

Diversity Management and Equal Employment Opportunity
The Department of Veterans Affairs offers a variety of links for more information on history, statistics, and facts.
http://www.va.gov/dmeeo/calendar/napahm.htm

 

Electronic Resources

Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Lexis Nexis Academic is a collection of recently published articles from newspapers throughout the country.

Special Collections

Matsumoto was a founding faculty member of NC State’s School of Design between 1948 and 1961. During his tenure at the School of Design between 1948 and 1961, Matsumoto won more than thirty awards for his residential work and his achievements in design were widely published. The Papers and Drawings of George Matsumoto, FAIA represent the first major acquisition by the NCSU Libraries' Special Collections Department under a library initiative to collect selectively, preserve and make available architectural records for research and study.  http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/archives/exhibits/matsumoto/index.html

 

This site was created by NCSU Libraries' Diversity Committee

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University