Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Library Information
Get Answers Now

Library Diversity Home

Peer Research Advisors Program

Resource Guides

Programs

Diversity Events at NC State

Diversity@NC State

Library Resource Guide

American Indian Heritage Month – Library Guide

The following guide includes some of the Libraries' resources and some web sites related to American Indians in celebration of November's American Indian Heritage Month. Suggested search strategies are also included to aid in locating additional information through the NCSU Libraries Catalog. Additional help is available through Ask A Librarian.

Search Strategy | Books | Web sites| Journals & Magazines | Videos | Electronic Resources

Search Strategy:

Resources about Native Americans are often grouped under the Library of Congress subject term: Indians of North America. But many resources are cataloged under the specific Tribe or Reservation name. For instance, resources about the Lumbee may have the following subject headings in the library catalog:

Lumbee Indians

Federally recognized Indian tribes--North Carolina

Indians of North America--North Carolina.

Use the keyword search box on the Libraries’ web site to find information about a specific tribe or region.

Here are some other subject headings to explore to find information about Native Americans:

Indians of North America--Education

Indians of North America--Intellectual life

Indians of North America--Public opinion

Indians in popular culture--United States

Indians in literature

American literature--Indian authors

Books

Keeping the Circle: American Indian Identity in Eastern North Carolina, 1885-2004
Christopher Arris Oakley
D.H. Hill Library E78 .N74 O35 2005

The American Indian in North Carolina
Douglas L. Rights
D.H. Hill Library E78.N74 R5 1957

First on the Land: The North Carolina Indians
Ruth Y. Wetmore
D.H. Hill Library E78.N74 W46

Native Carolinians: the Indians of North Carolina
Theda Perdue
D.H. Hill Library E78.N74 P47 1985

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Carl Waldman, editor
D.H. Hill Library Reference Material, 1st floor E76.2 .W35 1999

Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
James S. Olson, editor
D.H. Hill Library KF8210 .C5 E53 1997

Native American voices : A Reader
Susan Lobo
D.H. Hill Library E77 .L78 1998

Native American Architecture
Peter Nabokov and Robert Easton
Design Library E98 .D9 N33 1989

Indian Country, God's Country: Native Americans and the National Parks
Philip Burnham
D.H. Hill Library E98 .L3 B87 2000
Natural Resources Library E98 .L3 B87 2000

Web sites

U.S. Census Bureau – American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) Data and Links
Here you will find population reports for regions, divisions, states, and tribes in addition to special reports, tables, maps, and charts giving information on language, housing, and social and economic characteristics of the American Indian and Alaska Native population. Data is available from the 1990 and 2000 census.

Bureau of Indian Affairs List of Federally Recognized Tribes
This is the list of the 562 Indian Tribes that are recognized by the federal government and eligible to receive funding from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Native American Sites
A list of web sites about Native Americans maintained by former librarian and mixed-blood Mohawk urban Indian, Lisa Mitten.

Native American Authors
This site, created by the Internet Public Library, provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal web sites.

WWW Virtual Library - American Indians
An index of Native American Resources on the Internet categorized by such subjects as Language, Legal, Education, Books, Art Related Sites, and Indigenous Knowledge.

Journals and Magazines

American Indian Culture and Research Journal
E75.A5124
D.H Hill Library Stacks – 3rd floor (newest issues in current periodicals shelving area)

Ethnohistory
E51 .E8
D.H. Hill Library Stacks – 3rd floor (newest issues in current periodicals shelving area)

Videos

Indian by birth: The Lumbee Dialect
D.H. Hill Library – Media Collection (2nd floor, West Wing) E99 .C91 I53 2000

Through interviews, looks at the Lumbee Indians of Robeson County, N.C. and how the English they speak has developed.

How the West was Lost II
D.H. Hill Library – Media Collection (2nd floor, West Wing) E78.W5 H68 1995

These new episodes of How the West Was Lost explore the Native American experience during the 18th and 19th centuries chronicling the history of the Iroquois, Cherokee, Seminole, Dakota, Modoc, Ute, and the Indian Territory.

In Whose Honor?
D.H. Hill Library – Media Collection (2nd floor, West Wing) E98.E85 I52 1997

Discussion of Chief Illiniwek as the University of Illinois mascot, and the effect the mascot has on Native American peoples. Graduate student Charlene Teters shares the impact of the Chief on her family. Interviewees include members of the Board of Regents, students, alumni, current and former "Chiefs" and members of the community.

Electronic Resources

Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

America, History And Life covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.

Lexis Nexis Academic is a collection of recently published articles from newspapers throughout the country.

This site was created by NCSU Libraries' Diversity Committee

   
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University