|
Home: Mobile Technologies and Culture
Scholarly vs Popular Material
Article Databases
Books
Tripsaver/ ILL
Citing Resources in APA Style
|
COM498m: Special Topics: Mobile Technologies and Culture
Journal Article Databases
The best advice here is to think beyond the usual databases in
Communication. Though these first two resources will contain useful articles,
consider your topic from all its angles and search also in databases in
appropriate, additional disciplines.
Keywords that work reasonably well in these databases are:
| Cell phone* |
Mobile communication |
| Cellular telephone* |
Mobile communication system* |
| Cellular telephone system* |
Personal digital assistant* |
-
ACADEMIC SEARCH
PREMIER, 1984 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- Academic Search Elite provides full text for over 1,530 academic, social
sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for
nearly 2,720 journals. Over 1,700 journals are peer reviewed. Full text
backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract
backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
-
COMMUNICATION & MASS MEDIA
COMPLETE, 1915 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370
journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined
coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for
more than 240 journals.
- SOCIOLOGICAL
ABSTRACTS, 1952 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- "CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international
literature in sociology and related disciplines... The database provides
abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over
1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book
chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by
Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years,
1952-1962, have been added to the database ..."
- PSYCINFO, 1887 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- PsycInfo contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly
journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology
and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the
covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to
present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100
periodicals in more than 25 languages.
- IEEE XPLORE, 1988 to present
- IEEE Explore "provides full-image access to the publications of both the
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution
of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and
conference proceedings published since 1988."
- IEEE Xplore includes the journal, Personal Communication.
Limiting searches to the title will be helpful. Use the Advanced Search, and
set a dropdown choice to "Publication Title."
- SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX
, 1956 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID)
- Social Sciences Citation Index is one of three databases in the Web of
Science. You may search all three together, two at once, or limit to
only one of the database.
- The strength of the databases lie in their ability to link from an
article to ones written more recently that cite the original reference in
their bibliographies.
-
INGENTA
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- This is a Table of Contents database that offers free searching and
browsing of more than 25,000 publications.
- Articles are added here more quickly than to databases for which editors
analyze articles' contents and create database abstracts and search terms.
ingenta is timely, but does not offer the standardization and
uniformity found in most article databases.
- Full-text articles are available to users who subscribe to the
ingenta service. Check local library holdings and consider
interlibrary loan requests as alternatives to purchasing articles you identify
here.
Librarian Contact Information
|