COM257: Media History & Theory
Journal Article Databases
The best advice here is to think beyond the usual databases in
Communication. Though these first two resources will contain useful articles,
consider your topic from all its angles and search also in databases that
cover appropriate, alternative disciplines. If you're searching a historical
topic, don't overlook the printed indexes to
articles.
Try to identify the most precise keywords (sometimes called descriptors or
subject terms) that describe your topic, and search using those words or
phrases. There is no single set of terms used in all journal article
databases, so think of possible alternative words and phrases. Some possible
search terms are listed on the Books
page.
Look also to see if the database lets you review the "Academic (or
Scholarly) Journal" subset of results. You should avoid using magazine or
newspaper articles in your reserach.
These databases will include articles on your media history and theory
topics:
-
ACADEMIC SEARCH
PREMIER, 1984 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- Academic Search Elite provides full text for over 1,530 academic, social
sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for
nearly 2,720 journals. Over 1,700 journals are peer reviewed. Full text
backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract
backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
-
COMMUNICATION &
MASS MEDIA
COMPLETE, 1915 to present
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370
journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined
coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for
more than 240 journals.
- JSTOR
- NCSU's Information System, NCSU Library's World Wide
Web (with a Unity ID).
- JSTOR (Journal STOrage) provides image and full-text online access to back
issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political
science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social
sciences; coverage varies for each title.
Librarian Contact Information
|