BIT 495: Biotechnology Ethics
Searching Databases for Articles
Search Process and Search Tips
Begin by spending a little time thinking about your topic and planning
your search. This will save you time and frustration by improving your
search results.
First, describe your topic in a single sentence, and identify the major
concepts. Then collect all the terms used for each concept. Using the
appropriate terminology or vocabulary can make all the difference in
obtaining useful search results.
Also, pay attention to variations in word endings and abbreviations
or acronyms. Use truncation (described below in the table) to account
for these variations.
Make sure you use the correct Boolean operators (AND and OR) to combine
your search terms. (More information about using Boolean operators is
available in the Search Strategy Worksheet, and in the table below.)
More details about planning and implementing your search can be found
in this Search
Strategy Worksheet. It is extremely useful and highly recommended.
Tips for searching databases in the NCSU Libraries are
outlined in the table below. Additional tips may be found at: http://www.lib.purdue.edu/life/searchtips.html.
Note: Searching databases uses some tools and strategies
that are different from those that work in web search engines.
Begin
your Search
To search by
keyword |
Type the words
or phrases you wish to begin your search and press [Enter]
bacillus thuringensis[Enter] |
Retrieves records
with the phrase bacillus thuringensis |
| Searching by
author |
Authors are indexed
by last name and first (and often middle) initial. |
For example,
search for Charles Bright as Bright C, Bright C* or Bright* |
Evaluate
and Modify your Search
To
truncate terms
(wildcard searching) |
Type
the word you wish to search followed by an asterisk (*)
gene* [Enter]
Note: The truncation symbol varies
depending on the search software. Truncation is used for singular/plural
differences and for variant word endings. |
Retrieves
records with terms beginning with gene such as genes,
genetic, genetics, and genetically.
Note: you may also get other unrelated words, like general or
genesis. Another option might be to truncate like this: genetic* |
| AND narrows your
search |
bacillus
thuringensis AND genetic*
[Enter]
Use AND to combine ideas or concepts in a search. You can combine
many concepts. In this example, you could also add in AND corn
to make the search even more specific. |
Retrieves any
record that contains all (or both) of the terms bacillus
thuringensis and all words beginning with genetic. The
terms, however, do not have to be adjacent to, or even near, one
another. |
| OR
broadens your search |
bacillus thuringensis OR Bt[Enter]
OR is often used for synonyms or to account for variations in terminology.
Another example is: genetically modified OR transgenic OR GM[Enter] |
Retrieves
any record that contains either the term bacillus thuringensis
or Bt.
Retrieves any record that contains any of the terms genetically
modified, transgenic, OR GM |
Further
Focus and Refine your Search
| Set searching |
#1 and #2
[Enter]
Note: May not work in all databases. Does not work in WWW search
engines. |
Retrieves records
that contain both a term from set #1 and a term from set
#2. Set #1 might consist of bacillus thuringensis OR Bt and
Set #2 could be genetically modified OR transgenic |
| Nesting |
(bacillus
thuringensis OR Bt) and (genetically modified OR transgenic)[Enter]
Note: Used when set searching isn't available. |
Retrieves records
that contain either the terms bacillus thuringensis OR
Bt and either the term genetically modified OR transgenic. |
| Vocabulary |
Many
databases have a specific vocabulary, often included in an online
thesaurus of terms. Individual database records may list these terms
as descriptors or subject terms. Also consider using terms higher
in a relational hierarchy if few or no results are obtained with
the more specific term.
|
Explore the thesaurus
in the database, or the subject terms in individual database records,
to identify more specific or appropriate terms to use in your search. |
Selecting a Database to Search
Use online databases to find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles on
specific topics. NCSU Libraries has over 100 databases divided by topic (see
the Database Finder
for topical lists of databases). Subject areas such as biochemistry, genetics,
biological sciences, and philosophy are relevant disciplinary areas.
There is no single, 'perfect' database for finding articles about biotechnology
and ethics. You will most likely need to look in several different types of
databases:
- Databases that cover the scientific and academic literature from a disciplinary
perspective (biology, philosophy) will help you locate scholarly literature
aimed at scientists, scholars, and clinicians.
- Multidisciplinary databases that cover a variety of topics are useful
for locating scholarly and popular magazine articles with a variety of perspectives--including
those aimed at scientists, policy makers, and the general public.
- News databases can also be helpful for keeping up to date with current
events in the biotechnology and ethics area.
- NOTE: If you need a refresher on the differences between scholarly and
popular articles, see: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/lobo2/evaluate/articles/
Databases, descriptions, and links for selected databases in these categories
are provided below. Depending on your topic, you may need to consult databases
in other subject areas, such as law and public policy--use the Database
Finder to locate databases in these areas.
Scholarly/Scientific Databases
Biological Abstracts
The most comprehensive biological database, scans over 4,000 journals and
is international in scope. Covers all subjects in biology, biomedicine, and
the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology,
pharmacology, and
public health. Includes original research articles (not reviews or conferences,
these are included in the Biological Abstracts/RRM database).
Coverage: 1969-present. (Most records included in the database from 1985 contain
abstracts.)
Medline via PubMed
Covers over 3900 current biomedical journals in the fields of medicine, nursing,
dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, bioethics, and the
preclinical sciences, including molecular biology and genetics. Includes abstracts
and citations, and links to the full-text of articles in journals to which
NC State subscribes. PubMed also links to the National Center for
Biotechnology Information's molecular biology databases.
Coverage: 1966-present. Updated weekly.
Agricola
Covers the world's agricultural literature, including plant and animal sciences,
forestry, soil and water resources, and earth and environmental sciences.
Records describe journal articles, book chapters, books, series, microforms,
audiovisuals, maps, and other types of material.
Coverage: 1970-present (with some older material back to the 16th century).
CAB Abstracts
Covers the world's literature on agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines,
including animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection,
genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition,
recreation, and rural development. Records describe journal articles, books,
conference papers, reports, and other types of material.
Coverage: 1972-present.
Philosopher's Index
Includes indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and
related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, social philosophy, political
philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the
philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Coverage: 1949-present.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary databases are very useful for covering topics that may
overlap several disciplines--such as biotechnology and ethics. However, they
do not go into depth for each discipline. One useful approach is to begin
your search with these databases, and then shift to a subject database if
you need more detailed information. These databases also contain a high percentage
of full text articles.
Three useful multidisciplinary databases are listed below. You can get to
them from the Database
Finder--using the alphabetical list, or the "General" subject
category.
Academic Search, InfoTrac Onefile, and Wilson Omnifile all contain both scholarly
and popular materials, but each has a button on the search screen that lets
you limit your search to only scholarly (also called peer reviewed) publications.
Academic Search FULLTEXT Elite
InfoTrac Custom Journals or InfoTrac OneFile
News Databases
InfoTrac OneFile or InfoTrac Custom Newspapers (general news)
Lexis-Nexis Academic (business and general news)
Business Source Elite or ABI Inform (business news)
Go to these databases from the alphabetical listing on the Database
Finder page.
Top of Page
Librarian Contact Information
|