Subject Guides:
Industry Research & Analysis
CONTENTS
Key
Business Databases
Databases for Industry Reports and Surveys
Government Sources
Data and Statistics
Market Share
Financial Ratios
Associations and their Publications
Key Print Sources
Ask
a Librarian
KEY
BUSINESS DATABASES
These databases are good sources for business news, current business trends and issues, etc.
Business Source Premier (industry reports, full text articles)
LexisNexis Academic (news, legal, periodicals, financial data, full text articles)
Newspaper Databases - http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/newspapers/
DATABASES FOR INDUSTRY REPORTS AND SURVEYS
These databases provide broad, but extensive reports on various industries.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage Choose "Industry" from top navigation bar.
Mergent Online (Quick Help Guide) Choose Industry Reports from Basic Search screen.
Plunkett Research Online
Business Source Premier
GOVERNMENT
SOURCES
Government
sources often provide statistics and data for production, sales, number
of establishments, trade-export and import. They also provide some
reports on countries and key industries.
US
Census - http://www.census.gov/
Economic Census
- http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
Standard Industrial Classification(SIC) - http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html
Correspondence tables between NAICS and SIC - http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naicstab.htm
Current Industrial
Reports - http://www.census.gov/cir/www/index.html
County Business Patterns, Zip Code Business Patterns, Metro Business Patterns
http://censtats.census.gov/cbpnaic/cbpnaic.shtml
Economic Report of the President - http://www.gpoaccess.gov/eop/
Bureau of Labor Statistics - http://www.bls.gov/
Bureau of Economic Analysis - http://www.bea.gov/
International Trade Administration - http://www.ita.doc.gov/
Securities and Exhange Commission/EDGAR- http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
NC
Dept. of Commerce Industry Info - http://www.nccommerce.com/en/AboutDOC/PublicationsReports/
NC Dept. of the Secretary of State (Corporations Division) - http://www.secretary.state.nc.us/corporations/
DATA AND STATISTICS
LexisNexis Statistical (30,000 PowerTables,100,000+ abstracts and tables to statistics)
Thomson Research (WorldScope)
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Additional
Data and Statistics Resources
MARKET SHARE
What
is "Market Share?" Market share is the ratio of sales of a
brand, company, or industry to the total sales of that same category
in a defined area (county, continent, etc.). Market share is usually
presented as a percentage, although sometimes a raw number of sales
or units is provided. If the total raw number is also provided, you
can calculate the market share percentage by dividing the brand's
number by the total number, and multiplying the results by 100.
Mergent
Online (Quick
Help Guide)
LexisNexis
Academic Choose "Business" and then select
"Industry."
Plunkett
Research Online
Business Source Premier (industry reports, full text articles)
Standard
and Poor's Net Advantage
Choose "Industry" from top navigation bar.
US
Market Trends & Forecasts [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing]
HD30.27 .U72
Market Share Reporter [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing]
HF53 .M37
Global market share planner: Market share tracker [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HD2757.15 .G56
Global market share planner: Major performance rankings [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HD2757.15 .G56
FINANCIAL
RATIOS
One
of the ways to evaluate the performance of any given company is by
comparing that company to other companies or its industry. Financial
ratios provide a means and standard of comparison. Many financial
elements, such as inventory size, are validated by their relationship/ratio
to other elements in a company's financial record, such as sales.
Comparing these ratios to similar asset-sized companies or to the
industry can result in a better understanding of the health of a company.
LexisNexis
Academic
Mergent
Online (Quick
Help Guide)
S&P
Net Advantage
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5681.R25 A45
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5681.R25.I525
RMA Annual Statement Studies [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HG4050 .T39
Statistics of Income - Corporation Income Tax Returns [U.S. Docs DH Hill Library, 2nd floor, Stacks] T 22.35/2:C 81/
ASSOCIATIONS
and their PUBLICATIONS
Associations
publish much data and many reports about the industry they represent.
Often the publications are free. Trade associations are an excellent
place to go for statistics, market reports, demographics and to find
other related industries and trade groups.
National Trade and Professional Associations of the United States [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HD2425 .D53
Encyclopedia of Associations [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HS17 .G320
Small Business Sourcebook [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HD2346.U5 S66
KEY PRINT SOURCES
Standard Industrial Classification Manual
North American Industry Classification System.
Value Line Investment Survey [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HG4501 .V262
Encyclopedia of American Industries [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HC102 .E53
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HC106.82 .U16
|