*
  Home    About Us    Research Resources    Library Services    Career    Contact Us 
NCSU Libraries College of Management at NC State University NC State Site Help

Subject Guides:

Finding Company Information

CONTENTS


Some basic questions you may want ask yourself before you start your search:

  • Is the company public or private?
  • Is this a local/small company?
  • Is it based in another country?
  • Is it a subsidiary, division of another company?
  • Could this company name really be a brand name (Kleenex)?
  • What does this company do or make?
  • What specific information are you looking for?

Your search strategy will depend upon the answer(s) to these questions and the type of project you are working on. Unless you have specific needs, you may want to use several of the sources listed below.


GENERAL DIRECTORY INFORMATION

These sources usually provide an address and phone numbers, name of the CEO, NAICS/SIC code, estimated sales, and number of employees. Some directories provide much more information -- biographies of officers, detailed financial information, stock reports, news, analyses of business strategies and recent developments, etc.

U.S. Companies

ReferenceUSA

Lexis Nexis Corporate Affiliations

D&B Million Dollar Directory [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5035 .D83
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers http://www.thomasregister.com
Ward's Business Directory of US Private & Public Companies [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HG4057.A449

Foreign Companies

Lexis Nexis Corporate Affiliations
Principal International Businesses [
DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF54.U5 P74
Thomas Global Register http://www.tgrnet.com/

State and Local Companies

ReferenceUSA

Business Source Premier (Company Profiles)
The Business Journal/Triangle http://www.bizjournals.com/triangle/

North Carolina Business Directory [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HD9727.N8 N69
North Carolina Manufacturers Directory [
DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5065.N8 N64
Who's Who in Greater Raleigh Business [
DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF296 .R24


FINANCIAL / ANNUAL REPORTS / RATIOS

Business researchers and investors may use Financial Reports, Annual Reports or 10-K's. Financial Reports tend to be of two kinds: balance sheets and income statements. A balance sheet is a status report that describes the financial condition of a company at a fixed point in time. An income statement, or earnings report, shows how much money is made or lost during the fiscal year (or other time) being reported. Financial statements are included in annual reports (sometimes abridged), S&P reports, and Value Line, for example. To facilitate comparisons, ratios are often calculated using the numbers on financial statements. Two most common types of corporate reports are the 10-K and the Annual Report. The 10-K is the detailed report submitted to the SEC and is the most exhaustive source of current corporate information. The Annual Report is the report to the shareholders and is not an official filing. This is often the glossy snapshot: mostly positive, discussing plans and company's outlook, with financial data included.

One of the ways to evaluate the performance of any given company is by comparing that company to other companies or its industry. Financial ratios provide a means and standard of comparison. Many financial elements, such as inventory size, are validated by their relationship/ratio to other elements in a company's financial record, such as sales. Comparing these ratios to similar asset-sized companies or to the industry can result in a better understanding of the health of a company.

Annual Reports / 10-K's

Mergent Online (Quick Help Guide)
LexisNexis Academic
choose "Business"

Securities and Exchange Commission http://www.sec.gov/edgarhp.htm

Financial Information / Ratios

LexisNexis Academic   choose "Business"
Mergent Online
(Quick Help Guide)
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage 

RMA Annual Statement Studies [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5681.B2 R6
Almanac of Business and Financial Ratios [
DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5681.R25 A45
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF5681.R25 I525, 1990-2005


DATA AND STATISTICS

Mergent Online
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Wharton Research Data Services
LexisNexis Statistical

Additional Data and Statistics Resources


MARKET SHARE

What is "Market Share?" Market share is the ratio of sales of a brand to the total sales of that product-type in a defined area (county, continent, etc.). Market share can also be defined as the ratio of sales of a company's entire product line to the total sales of all related companies. Market share is usually presented as a percentage, although sometimes a raw number of sales or units is provided. If the total raw number is also provided, you can calculate the market share percentage by dividing the brand's number by the total number, and multiplying the results by 100.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Business Source Premier
LexisNexis Academic choose "Business"
Mergent Online
(Quick Help Guide)
LexisNexis Statistical

Market Share Reporter [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF53.M37


RANKINGS OF COMPANIES

Find out how a particular company ranks against its competitors, or within a geographical area.

Mergent Online (Quick Help Guide)
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage choose "Industry"

Business Rankings Annual [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HG4050 .B88
Market Share Reporter [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HF53.M37
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
[
DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HG4057.A449


COMPANY HISTORY

These sources may give you information about ownership, brands or products, mergers, board of directors, name changes and of course, the history of the company.

Mergent Online (Quick Help Guide)
Business Source Premier ('Company Profiles' section)

International Directory of Company Histories [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HD2721 .I57


STOCK PERFORMANCE

Provides information to investors to understand and make decisions to determine company "health." Key resource publishers are Mergent (formerly Moody's), Value Line, Standard & Poor's, Morningstar. Looking at stock resources is sometimes a good place to find ratios and other financial information for business researchers. Of course, these companies must be publicly traded.

Financials / Prices & Analysis

Morningstar Library Edition

Mergent Online (Quick Help Guide)
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Value Line Investment Survey [DH Hill Library, 1st floor, East Wing] HG4501.V26, only latest issue available

Stock and Bond Quotes

Yahoo!Finance http://finance.yahoo.com/ [Historical Prices also available]
Yahoo! Finance Bonds Center http://finance.yahoo.com/bonds [Includes Fitch Ratings]


CURRENT NEWS

Find out about current happenings, executive changes, management restructuring, new products, mergers and acquisitions, etc.

Business Source Premier
LexisNexis Academic (Business section)

Newspaper Databases


PRIVATE COMPANY RESEARCH

Research on private companies (particularly small private companies) can be challenging, since private companies are not required to make available the same information required of public companies. It is typically necessary to search in a number of different sources for any available information, including the company's web site and local/regional news sources.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Plunkett Research Online
LexisNexis Academic (Business section)
Regional Business News

Newspaper Databases - http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/newspapers/
Triangle Business Journal - http://triangle.bizjournals.com/triangle/

Lexis Nexis Corporate Affiliations
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies, available through Nexis Lexis Academic (Search for Hoovers in the Sources tab.)