*
  Home    About Us    Research Resources    Library Services    Career    Contact Us 
NCSU Libraries College of Management at NC State University NC State Site Help

Where to Find Business Information: Major Business Databases and Their Content

Amy VanScoy, Assistant Head, Research & Information Services
Phone: 515-5826 E-mail: amy_vanscoy@ncsu.edu

Hyun-Duck Chung, Librarian, Research & Information Services
Phone: 513-2119 E-mail: hyun_duck_chung@ncsu.edu

 
 

Business Source Premier
*Best Starting Point*
(more info)

Mergent Online
(more info)

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
(more info)

Plunkett Research Online
(more info)

LexisNexis Academic (Business)
*Includes Hoovers Company Records*
(more info)

Lexis Nexis Corporate Affiliations

Reference USA
(more info)

Morningstar Library Edition
(more info)

Articles and News Extensive Coverage Basic Coverage Basic
Coverage
No Extensive Coverage No No No
Industry Reports and Surveys Extensive Coverage Basic Coverage Extensive Coverage Good Coverage Basic
Coverage
No No No
Company Information Extensive Coverage Extensive Coverage Extensive Coverage Good Coverage

Good
Coverage

Basic
Coverage
Basic
Coverage
Basic
Coverage
Ratios and Financial Data Basic Coverage Extensive Coverage Good
Coverage
Basic Coverage Basic
Coverage
Basic
Coverage

Basic
Coverage

Extensive Coverage
Annual Reports No Yes No No Yes No No Yes
Market Share* Partial Coverage Partial Coverage Partial
Coverage
Partial Coverage

Partial
Coverage

No No Partial Coverage
History Yes Yes No No No No No No
Covers Private Companies No No

Partial
Coverage

Good Coverage Good Coverage (includes Hoover's Company Records) Yes Yes No

Stock Information

No Basic Coverage Basic
Coverage
No Basic
Coverage
No No Extensive Coverage
Corporate Hierarchy No No No No No Yes, including M&A tracking Yes No
Directory Information Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes, allows creating company lists; (includes Hoover's Company Records) Yes Yes, allows creating company lists Yes

* Market Share defined: Market share is the ratio of sales of a brand to the total sales of that product-type in a defined area (county, continent, etc.). Market share can also be defined as the ratio of sales of a company's entire product line to the total sales of all related companies. Market share is usually presented as a percentage, although sometimes a raw number of sales or units is provided.

Additional Information: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/business/resources/guides/ [FAQ]


Additional Database Information

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,200 serials, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, SWOT analyses, Market Research Reports, and Country Reports.

Mergent Online
Provides access to detailed corporate financial histories as well as country profiles and maps. Includes over 16,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) with full financial filings, annual reports; over 20,000 international company data and their hard-to-get annual reports; custom report capability; and industry surveys for 19+ major industries groups.

Plunkett Research Online
Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations in several industries.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Includes Standard and Poor's Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.

Lexis Nexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic focuses primarily on business and lawtopics, with additional general news (international, national and local), medical, and reference resources. Most material is full-text. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. This database also includes access to Hoover's Company Records.

Lexis Nexis Corporate Affiliations
Maps out corporate affiliations among parent, subsidiary, venture companies; tracks mergers and acquisitions.
Llimited to two simultaneous online users at a time.

Morningstar Library Edition
Provides comprehensive information on stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs, including analysis reports for some.

Reference USA
Provides detailed directory information on businesses, residents, and health care providers. Basic company information (number of employees, status as public or private company, etc.) is also included.

Wharton Research Data Services [includes Compustat]
A comprehensive source of financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking data. It provides web access to the following economics and financial data collections: The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), Compustat (includes executive compensation data), and Trade & Quote Database (TAQ).