*
  Home    About Us    Research Resources    Library Services    Career    Contact Us 
NCSU Libraries College of Management at NC State University NC State Site Help

Subject Guides:

Accounting and Auditing Resources

CONTENTS

Quick Look-Ups: Directories, dictionaries and handbooks
FASB, AICPA Publications
Guides to Laws, Standards and Practices
CPA Examination Study Guides and Performance Data
Online Databases for Accounting and Auditing
Associations and Organizations
Internet Resources
Ask a Librarian


Quick Look-ups: Directories, dictionaries and handbooks

CPA Directory http://www.cpadirectory.com
Tax and Accounting Associations Directory http://www.taxsites.com/associations2.html

Dictionary of Accounting Terms [DH Hill, 1st Floor, East Wing] HF5621 .S54 2000
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of accounting -- (NCSU)
International Dictionary of Accounting Acronyms -- (NCSU)

Accounting Handbook [DH Hill, 1st Floor, East Wing] HF5635 .S586 2006
Accounting Desk Book: the Accountant's Everyday Instant Answer. [DH Hill, 1st Floor, East Wing] HF5635 .P53 2000
History of Accounting: An International Encyclopedia [DH Hill, 1st Floor, East Wing] HF5605 .H573 1996
International Financial Reporting Standards Desk Reference : Overview, Guide, and Dictionary [DH Hill, 1st Floor, East Wing] - HF5681 .B2 H88 2005


FASB, AICPA Publications

Online access to (selected) FASB and AICPA materials is available from these sources:

FASB Pronouncements and EITF Abstracts - http://www.fasb.org/st/

FASAB - http://www.fasab.gov/codifica.html

LexisNexis Academic -- Provides full text to many accounting literature such as AICPA titles, Miller GAAP and GAAS guides, SEC publications, etc. Look for them in the "Sources" tab.


Guides to Laws, Standards and Practices

SEC Accounting Rules [DH Hill, 5th Floor] KF1446 .A6 U5
GAAP [DH Hill Library, 4th Floor] HF5616 .U5 G33
Miller GAAP Guide [DH Hill Library, 1st Floor, East Wing] HF5635 .W55
Miller GAAS Guide [DH Hill Library, 1st Floor, East Wing] HF5667.B35


CPA Examination Study Guides and Performance Data

Most recent editions are in DH Hill Library, 1st Floor, East Wing.
Older editions are found in DH Hill Library Stacks.
Some are also available as e-books through NetLibrary - (NCSU)


CPA Examination Review
-- HF5661 .C7234

Wiley CPA Examination Review:

  • Auditing and Attestation -- HF5667 .C67
  • Business Environment and Concepts -- KF889.5 .C16
  • Regulation -- HF5661 .C7235
  • Financial Accounting and Reporting, Business Enterprises -- HF5661 .C7232

 


Online Databases for Accounting and Auditing

LexisNexis Academic - Provides full text to many accounting sources such as AICPA titles, MIller GAAP and GAAS guides, SEC publications, and others.

Business Source Premier - Search for full text articles and citations on accounting topics, including those from the Journal of Accountancy (1965-present).

RIA Checkpoint - Search for U.S. federal and state tax information. This database provides full texts of Internal Revenue Code, Federal Tax Coordinator, RIA Federal Tax Handbook, and Handbook of SEC Accounting and Disclosure. Some international coverage.


Associations and Organizations

American Accounting Association http://aaahq.org/index.cfm
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) http://www.aicpa.org/index.htm
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) http://www.fasb.org/
Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB) http://www.fasab.gov/
Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB) http://www.gasb.org/
Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) http://www.theiia.org/
Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) http://www.imanet.org/
International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) http://www.iasb.org/
International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) http://www.ifac.org/
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) http://www.nasba.org/nasbaweb.nsf/nasbahome


Internet Resources

AuditNet.org http://www.auditnet.org
Federal Reserve Board http://www.federalreserve.gov
Internal Revenue Service http://www.irs.gov/
U.S. Tax Code Online http://www.fourmilab.ch/ustax/ustax.html
IAS Plus - Deloitte, Touche, Tomatsu http://www.iasplus.com/country/country.htm

Tax and Accounting Sites Directory

FDIC